Would You Hire a $10 an Hour Maid Service?

By:  Cathy Green

A woman contacted me recently to tell me that she was looking for a company to do her laundry.  I told her that we do not do laundry. We only clean homes.

She went on to indicate that she already had someone cleaning her home but needed a company that would do her laundry for her.  She wanted to know if I would be willing to bend my rules on her behalf and have an employee to do her laundry.

Again, I told her we don’t do laundry but I asked her how much she was looking to pay.  She told me that she was searching for a company that could do her laundry for $10 an hour.

$10 an hour?

Truth is, there is no legitimate company out there that is able to do her laundry or anyone else’s for slave wages which is what she was in search of.  There also is no legitimate company out there that can clean a home for slave wages.  Where on earth is the profit margin in $10 an hour?

My question to you is, would you hire a “company” that would offer to do work in your home for $10 an hour?  If your answer is “yes”, I will just tell you that if you ever bring in someone who is charging you that low rate, that is not a real company.  Instead, that is a “scab” service that is paying zero taxes and such a person will demand that you pay them in cash, so as not to leave a paper trail. 

If the $10 an hour person gets hurt in your home, you will be responsible for her medical care.  And if the IRS finds out that you are not taking care of the taxes regarding this person, you’ll be in a heap of trouble.  Have you ever heard of the “Nanny Tax”?  It applies to these “10 an hour” cleaning ladies.

I tell people all the time that they certainly don’t have to hire my company but they definitely should hire a legitimate company to entrust to their homes.  Why hand your key over to someone who is not in business for real and who could easily disappear off into the sunset with stolen goods from your home? 

With real cleaning companies, at a minimum there is an owner whom you can call if there is an issue.  The owner has registered the business.  You can ask the owner whether or not he/she is insured and bonded.  You can ask the owner whether or not the employees have had background checks.

However, with the $10 an hour cleaning ladies from off the street, all you have is a hope and a prayer that this person will not get hurt in your home and that her boyfriend will not get the key to your home and enter it.

Yes, you will definitely save by hiring a $10 an hour (or less) cleaning lady from off the street.  But it could end up costing you soooooo much more in the long run.

Looking for a real cleaning company that is licensed, bonded and insured?  Call UpperCrust Maids, LLC at 301-322-7112

Note:  I write on this issue all the time.  PRESS HERE   for a recent article I wrote about the dangers of hiring these “$10 an hour” scab serves.

One response to this post.

  1. It’s true that you should always think twice about hiring a maid because of trust issues. The first time I hired a maid, it took all my will power not to clean up before she came. I did hire her for a competitive rate and she came highly recommended by a trusted friend. Now, my home is spotless because she comes to my home twice a week.

Leave a Reply

